Skip to main content
Coffee Guides

How to Make Vegan Iced Coffee

The vegan lifestyle is becoming more popular over time. Coffee lovers who happen to be vegans are always looking for delicious coffees that suit their lifestyles. One such coffee is vegan iced coffee. It is a staple for summer. In this article, we will show you how to make vegan iced coffee.

vegan iced coffee

Ingredients and Tools Required:

  • Instant espresso powder (2 teaspoons)
  • Vegan condensed milk or plant-based creamer/milk of your choice (3 tablespoons)
  • Hot water (1 cup)
  • Ice cubes
  • Measuring jar
  • Glass
  • Straw

There are several vegan creamer/milk options you can consider such as:

  • Soy milk
  • Oat milk
  • Canned coconut milk
  • Nut milk (cashew or almond)
  • Pumpkin pie creamer

The appearance and flavor of different kinds of vegan milk vary. Ultimately, the vegan milk you will choose for your vegan iced coffee will depend on your personal preferences. Alternatively, you can make some vegan condensed milk at home.


Step 1- Add 2 teaspoons of instant espresso powder to an empty measuring jar. If you love your coffee strong, then increase the amount of espresso powder as needed. Next, add 1 cup of boiling water into the measuring jug or up to the 240 ml line. Stir the mixture thoroughly.

Step 2- Add 3 tablespoons of your preferred vegan creamer or vegan condensed milk. If you love your coffee sweeter and creamy, increase the amount of creamer as needed. Again, stir the mixture thoroughly.

Step 3- Take an empty glass and fill it with ice to the top. Pour the coffee brew over the ice. Since some of the ice cubes will melt while pouring in the coffee, you can add more ice cubes to make your drink super chilled.

Step 4- Insert a straw into the glass and enjoy your vegan iced coffee. Now, you know how to make vegan iced coffee at home.


What are Some of the Vegan Iced Coffee Flavor Ideas you Can Try?

If you love your coffee flavored, you can add flavor to your vegan iced coffee. Some of the flavor options to choose from include:

  • Chocolate syrup
  • Vanilla syrup
  • Cinnamon
  • Ginger
  • Nutmeg
  • Date syrup


Is My Coffee Vegan?

vegan coffee

Individuals who prefer a vegan diet do it for a reason. They think beyond the food they eat. For them, being vegan is a lifestyle choice. It is about ethical living by caring for animals and the planet. Thus, as a vegan, it will help to know whether your coffee is truly vegan.

Essentially, coffee beans are vegan. Coffee beans are seeds that grow inside the fruits of a coffee plant. The fruit of a coffee plant is known as a cherry. The beans are harvested, dried, and roasted to various levels. Thus, coffee beans are sourced from plants.

When you grind the beans to brew black coffee, you are drinking pure vegan coffee. However, when you add dairy to your coffee such as milk or animal-based creamer, your coffee is no longer vegan. You can add plant-based creamer to keep your coffee vegan for those who prefer sweeter and creamy coffee.


Is Instant Coffee Powder Vegan?

Instant coffee is made by free-drying ground coffee to make soluble powder or granules. There are concerns among vegans about whether some instant coffee brands contain additives. Although some instant coffees contain additives, it is rare for them to contain any animal products. However, you can always check the label for any milk product additives. For instance, some 3-in-1 instant coffees contain milk additives while most plain instant coffees only contain pure ground coffee.


Is Decaffeinated Coffee Vegan?

Decaf coffee is made from coffee beans that have most of their caffeine content removed using various processes such as solvents. The caffeine is removed before roasting the beans. Some of the most common solvents used are ethyl acetate and methylene dichloride.

Although these solvents may not sound appealing to some environment-conscious vegans, the solvents are not sourced from animal products. Thus, decaf coffee can still be considered vegan. If you are a vegan trying to reduce your daily caffeine intake, then you can use instant decaf powder to make vegan iced coffee.


Are Coffee Pods Vegan?

There is an increasing popularity in the use of single-serve coffee pods. They are preferred for their convenience in making coffee instantly. Most coffee pods are vegan-friendly. Check for those that contain pure ground coffee. Some coffee pods such as those used for making cappuccinos often contain milk products and are not vegan. Thus, check the packaging to ensure the coffee pods do not contain milk products.